Using Unconventional PR to Gain Exposure

20 07 2008

In my last post I mentioned that David Meerman Scott, in his book and ebook, suggests that we should write press releases about any topic and not just when we have big corporate news such as a new product launch.  This got me thinking about the various unconventional uses of internet PRs I’ve seen at my company.  Two examples come to mind:

Example #1: We had a client who used our company to write and distribute a PR for them because they were in the final interview phases with a major organization in their field.  The purpose of the press release was to gain them positive exposure on the internet when the firm searched for them.  We wrote the PR highlighting previous accomplishments, articles that had been written about them, and their education…basically a resume.

Result #1: In 15 days the client received 29,000 headline impressions, 400+ fullpage reads/downloads of the PR, and it was picked up by 50+ websites, blogs, journals, etc.  The client ended up receiving the job offer that they had been being recruited for.

This was an unconventiontional use of PR because it was used to enhance their online reputation and it was used to gain exposure to obtain a new position.

Example #2: I have distributed PRs for my restaurant, Caminito Steakhouse, when we have hosted beer and wine dinners

Results #2: We received similar stats as my first example.  But more importantly to me, due in part to our PR efforts, when you search Google for “argentinean steakhouse” we appear as the 2nd search result on the 1st page, 3 times on the first page and 13 times on the first 10 pages.  This is out of over 899,000 results when searching that term!  We are not nearly as big or in as big of a market as many of the steakhouses listed on that search result but, because of our SEO efforts and using PR in a traditionally unconventional method, we have seen an uptick in customers, website hits and reservations via our website.

Now, I know some may think that the way I utilized internet-based PR for the restaurant is conventional because something like a beer dinner is similar to a product launch for a typical company.  However, it’s unconventional because most restaurants, especially in smaller markets, don’t actively include PR in their marketing plans…if they even have a marketing plan at all!

These are just 2 examples out of many which I’m sure exist out there.  So I turn the question over to you…what are some of the traditionally unconventional ways you have either used or read about using press releases to gain exposure?

Bookmark and Share


Actions

Information

3 responses

23 07 2008
Josh

I like the way you are taking a traditional thing like PR and adding to the overall experience. I have taken a look at your main site and like what I see. Keep up the good work.

30 07 2008
Unconventional Marketing Blog - Learn About Marketing Ideas | Marketing Strategy | Unconventional Marketing Techniques Four blogs worth checking out :

[…] campaigns and the best ways to plan a PR marketing strategy for the absolute best results. ( One example here) I know he has the knowledge to […]

12 08 2008
10 Tips for a Successful Internet PR Campaign « That’s Great PR! Blog

[…] of the “unconventional” or non-traditional ways that a press release could be used to gain exposure.  But I wanted to put together a set of quick tips that will help point you in the right direction […]

Leave a comment